Book your prizeotel
design room
Please select a city.
almost fully booked booked up
Plese select a valid period of time.
Plese select a valid period of time.
Please select how many rooms you whish to book.
Please select how many rooms you whish to book.
HOTLINE: +49 421 2222 - 100 (8.00 - 7.00 p.m.)
Maschsee Hannover
Fotograf: Axel Hindemith, Creative Commons

Lake Maschsee Hannover

Lake Maschsee

Derived from the name "Leinemasch" ("the River Leine swamp" in English) - or just simply "Masch" - this artificial lake is situated south of the centre of Hanover. It spans an area of around 80 hectares in total and is hence the largest body of water in Hanover. 

As early as the end of the 19th century, the plans to create Lake Maschsee were presented to the city of Hanover by the architect Theodor Unger, since the historic centre of Hanover and some city districts were regularly threatened with flooding and deluges. At the time, however, the funds to build Lake Maschsee were not available. It was not until decades later that the national socialist regime used the lake project for propaganda purposes, having hundreds of unemployed people laboriously dig out the lake basin by hand in exchange for a very meagre wage, lauding it as a "feat of the people". On 26th November 1935, the lake basin was flooded with water from the adjacent River Leine.

Maschsee Hannover Luftaufnahme
Fotograf: Amhaaw19, Creative Commons
Highlights

Highlights

Today, Lake Maschsee is a popular place for water sports and recreation. It also serves as a fish farming preserve, where pike, perch and carp are fished and traditionally sold by the lakeside at Christmas and New Year.  

The location has been host to the multiple week Maschsee festival since 1986, which now sees visitor numbers reach in excess of two million.

Address

Maschsee Hannover
Arthur-Menge-Ufer 3
30169 Hannover

www.hannover.de

Dein prizeotel
Designzimmer buchen
Bitte wähle eine Stadt aus.
fast ausgebucht ausgebucht
Bitte wähle einen gültigen Zeitraum aus.
Bitte wähle einen gültigen Zeitraum aus.
Bitte wähle die gewünschte Anzahl an Zimmern aus.
Bitte wähle die gewünschte Anzahl an Zimmern aus.
HOTLINE: +49 421 2222 - 100 (8.00 - 7.00 p.m.)
Maschsee Hannover
Fotograf: Axel Hindemith, Creative Commons

Maschsee Hannover

Maschsee

Abgeleitet von der sogenannten "Leinemasch" (oder einfach nur "Masch") liegt etwas südlich von Hannovers Zentrum dieser künstlich angelegte und deswegen so bezeichnete See. Insgesamt hat er eine Fläche von knapp 80 Hektar und ist damit das größte Gewässer in Hannover.

Schon Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden die Pläne für die Realisierung des Maschsees vom Architekten Theodor Unger der Stadt Hannover präsentiert, da die Altstadt Hannovers und einige Stadtteile ständig mit Überflutungen und Überschwemmungen zu kämpfen hatten. Damals fehlte jedoch das Geld, den Maschsee zu bauen. Erst Jahrzehnte später nutzten das Nationalsozialistische Regime das See-Projekt als Propaganda, ließen in mühsamer Handarbeit hunderte Arbeitslose für einen Hungerlohn das Seebecken ausgraben und priesen es als "völkische Tat". Am 26. November 1935 wurde der See mit dem Wasser der benachbarten Leine geflutet.

Maschsee Hannover Luftaufnahme
Fotograf: Amhaaw19, Creative Commons
Ausflugsziel

Ausflugsziel

Heute ist der Maschsee ein beliebtes Wassersport- und Naherholungsgebiet. Außerdem dient er als Fischzuchtrevier, in dem Hechte, Barsche und Karpfen geangelt werden, die traditionell zu Weihnachten und Silvester am See verkauft werden.

Seit 1986 findet dort das Maschseefest statt  - ein mehrwöchiges Festival, zu dem mittlerweile mehr als zwei Millionen Besucher anreisen.

Adresse

Maschsee Hannover
Arthur-Menge-Ufer 3
30169 Hannover

www.hannover.de