Book your prizeotel
design room
Please select a city.
almost fully booked booked up
Plese select a valid period of time.
Plese select a valid period of time.
Please select how many rooms you whish to book.
Please select how many rooms you whish to book.
HOTLINE: +49 421 2222 - 100 (8.00 - 7.00 p.m.)
HDI Arena Hannover
Fotograf: Tim Rademacher, Creative Commons

HDI Arena Hannover

HDI Arena

The HDI arena is located in Hanover Sports Park, not far from Lake Maschsee. From 2002 to 2013 the stadium bore the name AWD Arena; it was previously known simply as Lower Saxony Stadium (which is what many football fans continue to call it today). The current name of the arena and home of the Bundesliga football club Hannover 96 is contractually set to last until at least 2020.   This is where parties were held during the football World Championships of 1974 and 2006, as well as during the 1988 European Championship. 

There’s room for up to 49,000 spectators in the HDI Arena. The stadium was last renovated in 2004, which was a result of having been added as a venue for the football World Cup. As part of the conditions to host World Cup matches, the arena’s seats had to be covered completely by a roof. In no time at all, almost three quarters of the venue was torn down, rebuilt and remodelled as a pure football stadium. The so-called “toothbrushes” were sacrificed to make way for the renovation. The floodlight masts of the Lower Saxony Stadium were replaced by single floodlights within the structure of the roof.

HDI Arena Hannover
Fotograf: Tim Rademacher, Creative Commons
Highlights

Highlights

Before the last renovation, the stadium was also a venue for other sports; it hosted several German athletics championships as well as rugby and American football games. Moreover, in the 1980s it became a very popular venue for open-air concerts in Northern Germany. The stadium attracted artists like The Rolling Stones, Madonna, U2 and Coldplay, as well as crowds of fans.

Address

HDI-Arena
Robert-Enke-Straße 1
30169 Hannover

T: +49 (0) 511-96900-96
F: +49 (0) 511-96900-796

hdi-arena(at)hannover96.de
www.hannover96.de

Dein prizeotel
Designzimmer buchen
Bitte wähle eine Stadt aus.
fast ausgebucht ausgebucht
Bitte wähle einen gültigen Zeitraum aus.
Bitte wähle einen gültigen Zeitraum aus.
Bitte wähle die gewünschte Anzahl an Zimmern aus.
Bitte wähle die gewünschte Anzahl an Zimmern aus.
HOTLINE: +49 421 2222 - 100 (8.00 - 7.00 p.m.)
HDI Arena Hannover
Fotograf: Tim Rademacher, Creative Commons

HDI Arena Hannover

HDI Arena

Im Sportpark Hannover, nicht weit weg entfernt vom Maschsee, steht die HDI-Arena. Von 2002 bis 2013 trug das Stadion den Namen AWD-Arena, davor (und auch bei vielen Fußballfans heute noch) heißt es einfach Niedersachsenstadion. Den jetzigen Namen wird die Arena und Heimstätte des Fußball-Bundesligisten Hannover 96 vertraglich festgesetzt wenigstens bis 2020 behalten. Während der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaften 1974 und 2006 haben hier Partien stattgefunden, ebenso bei der Fußball-Europameisterschaft 1988.

Bis zu 49.000 Zuschauer haben in der HDI-Arena Platz, zuletzt umgebaut worden ist das Stadion im Jahre 2004, der durch den Zuschlag als Austragungsort der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft bedingt war. Damit dort WM-Spiele stattinden können, mussten die Plätze der Arena komplett überdacht sein. Kurzerhand wurden fast drei Viertel abgerissen, erneuert und zu einem reinem Fußball-Stadion umgebaut. Dem Umbau zum Opfer fielen dann die sogenannten "Zahnbürsten". Die Flutlichtmasten des Niedersachsenstadions wurden durch Einzelscheinwerfer in der Dachkonstruktion ersetzt.

HDI Arena Hannover
Fotograf: Tim Rademacher, Creative Commons
Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen

Vor dem letzten Umbau war das Stadion auch Veranstaltungsort für andere Sportarten, so fanden hier mehrere deutsche Leichtathletik-Meisterschaften oder auch Rugby- und American Footballspiele statt. In den 80er Jahren entwickelte es sich außerdem zu einem sehr populären Ort für Open-Air-Konzerte im Norden Deutschlands. Die Rolling Stones, Madonna, U2 und Coldplay haben jede Menge Besucher in das Stadion gelockt.

Adresse

HDI-Arena
Robert-Enke-Straße 1
30169 Hannover

T: +49 (0) 511-96900-96
F: +49 (0) 511-96900-796

hdi-arena(at)hannover96.de
www.hannover96.de